Two Weeks Old

Happy Thanksgiving everyone!  I don’t know what this means, but Mom and Dad say that it is a Holiday today.  And, I’m two weeks old. A lot is happening.

Lucasfirstdays_117

I saw Mr. Dr. Dagli Tuesday. He and Mom and Dad talked a lot. The big news is I weighed 8 pounds and 2 ounces.  This is important.  When I was born I weighed 7 pounds and 15 ounces, but those first few days were tough and I lost almost one pound. Now that I weigh more than when I was born Mr. Dr. Dagli says I am very healthy, AND – da da daaaa – Dad and Mom don’t need to wake me up to eat every three hours any more.  This is good news for everyone.  But…..

Nighttime is not my favorite time. The last few days I’ve been awake more, which is super. I’m looking around, doing some exercises (more on that in a minute). This also means that sometimes I’m overwhelmed and cranky.  And my belly hurts.  And I get hungry.  I don’t like these feelings at all.  So I cry.  Mom and Dad also don’t like it because this happens when they are going to bed.  They keep telling me it will be OK.  I’ll try to trust them. I have discovered this amazing thing called a pacifier. Mom and Dad say Lina didn’t really like them when she was my age, but they make me feel secure and sleepy. If you are ever a little scared or unsure what to do, I’d say give a pacifier a try. They are working for me.

As for the exercises, Dad has introduced me to a workout called Tummy Time.  Everyone says that I’m strong.  I like to grab things and pull them to me.  It’s satisfying.  And when I’m working on Tummy Time I lift my head and try to hold it in the air, then I turn my head side to side.  It burns, but that good kind of burn you know?  Until it’s not good.  Then I cry.

My Grandpa Pedro and Grandma Connie are still visiting.  They are very nice.  They came all the way from Texas!  (Which I hear is far away). They play a lot with Lina.  I can’t wait until I’m bigger and can play too.  Mom, Dad, and Lina are very excited because Grandma Connie is making special food for Thanksgiving.  I don’t really care because I don’t eat food.  But I’m glad they are excited.

Oh, I almost forgot.  I took my first bath.  I did not like it at all.  I didn’t understand what was going on or why it had to happen.  I cried.  Mom and Dad said that I was dirty.  I felt fine, but whatever.  I guess we’ll do it again someday, but I hope not.

Lucasfirstdays_194

My hair is getting darker, so that’s cool.  Mom and Dad say that I have dark brown eyes and will probably have black hair.  I like it.

Lucasfirstdays_190Lina likes it too.  She says it’s soft and likes to touch it.  Lina is awesome.  She gives me kisses and talks to me and it makes me feel warm and safe.  And sometimes when I’m sleeping she comes and checks on me, and will give me a toy or pacifier, or tell Mom and Dad if I’m “whimpering.”  I don’t think she knows that I know. But I know and I’m happy.

Thanks for reading.  I hope you have a good Thanksgiving and someone made good food for you to eat, if you’re into that.  Here are a couple of more pictures Mom and Dad have taken.

Leave a Reply

